Mayor & Council

Council Group Photo

L-R:  Councilman Cannady, Councilman Koloski, Mayor Batts, Mayor Pro-Tem Shugarts, Councilwoman Hawley and Councilwoman Solomon.



Surf City has a Council-Manager form of government; with a non-partisan Mayor and five Council members elected every four years, in November on staggered terms. The Mayor and Council members are elected at-large by a town-wide vote.

Council appoints the Town Manager who carries out the policy decisions of the Council through Town Staff, the Town Attorney who provides legal advice to the Town, and the Town Clerk who maintains official records for the Town.

Town Council Meetings

Town Council Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of every month at 4:30 PM.
They are located at the Surf City Municipal Complex, 214 W. Florence Way Hampstead, NC 28445 (beside Publix)

Council Work Sessions are the third Friday of the month at 9:00 AM.
They are located at the Surf City Municipal Complex, 214 W. Florence Way Hampstead, NC 28445 (beside Publix).


Mayor Batts

Teresa B. Batts,
Mayor
tbatts@surfcitync.gov


Councilman Cannady



Hugh Cannady,
Councilman
hcannady@surfcitync.gov

Councilwoman Hawley


Alicia Hawley, Councilwoman ahawley@surfcitync.gov

Councilman Koloski


John Koloski 
Councilman
jkoloski@surfcitync.gov



Mayor Pro-Tem Shugarts



Jeremy Shugarts
  Mayor Pro-Tem
jshugarts@surfcitync.gov

Councilwoman Solomon



Trudy Solomon 
Councilwoman 
tsolomon@surfcitync.gov