Mayor & Council

Surf City has a Council-Manager form of government; with a non-partisan Mayor and five Council members elected every four years, in November on staggered terms. The Mayor and Council members are elected at-large by a town-wide vote.

Council appoints the Town Manager who carries out the policy decisions of the Council through Town Staff, the Town Attorney who provides legal advice to the Town, and the Town Clerk who maintains official records for the Town.

Town Council Meetings

Town Council Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of every month at 4:30 PM.
They are located at the Surf City Municipal Complex, 214 W. Florence Way (beside Publix)

Council Work Sessions are the third Friday of the month at 9:00 AM.
They are located at the Surf City Welcome Center, 102 North Shore Drive.

Untitled design (11)

Douglas C. Medlin, Mayor
Contact me

Untitled design (16)

William J. Fowler, Mayor Pro-Tem
Contact me

Untitled design (17)

Donald R. Helms, Councilman
Contact me

Untitled design (8)

Teresa B. Batts, Councilwoman
Contact me

Untitled design (12)

Jeremy Shugarts, Councilman
Contact me

Untitled design (13)

Dwight Torres, Councilman
Contact me